Restrictions for Wyoming

Review Supervised Release restrictions in this federal district and the Sex Offender Registry requirements for the state of Wyoming

District of Wyoming

Below you will find information on standard conditions of supervision and travel restrictions, as well as sex offender registry requirements. 

Always follow the conditions and restrictions given to you by your U.S. Probation Officer.

Wyoming District map

District of Wyoming

Mandatory Conditions of Supervision

  1. The defendant shall not commit another federal, state, or local crime.
  2. The defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled substance.
  3. The defendant shall refrain from any unlawful use of a controlled substance and submit to one drug test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and at least two periodic drug tests thereafter (as determined by the court) for use of controlled substance, but the condition stated in this paragraph may be ameliorated or suspended by the court for any individual defendant if the defendant’s presentence report or other reliable information indicates a low risk of future substance abuse by the defendant.
  4. If a fine is imposed and has not been paid upon release to supervised release, the defendant shall adhere to an installment schedule to pay that fine.
  5. The defendant shall (A) make restitution in accordance with 18 U.S.C §§ 2248, 2259, 2264, 2327, 3663, 3663A, and 3364; and (B) pay the assessment imposed in accordance with 18 U.S.C. § 3013. If there is a court-established payment schedule for making restitution or paying the assessment (see 18 U.S.C. § 3572(d)), the defendant shall adhere to the schedule.
  6. The defendant shall submit to the collection of a DNA sample at the direction of the United States Probation Office if the collection of such sample is authorized pursuant to section 3 of the DNA Analysis Backlog Elimination Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C. § 14135a).
  7. * If the defendant is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, the defendant shall comply with the requirements of that Act.
  8. ** The defendant who is convicted for a domestic violence crime as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 3361(b) for the first time shall attend a public, private, or private non-profit offender rehabilitation program that has been approved by the court, in consultation with a State Coalition Against Domestic Violence or other appropriate experts, if an approved program is available within a 50-mile radius of the legal residence of the defendant.

*Sex offender only

**For first time domestic violence offenders only

Standard Conditions of Supervision

  1. The defendant shall report to the probation office in the federal district where he or she is authorized to reside within 72 hours of the time the defendant was sentenced or released from imprisonment, unless the probation officer instructs the defendant to report to a different probation office or within a different time frame.
  2. After initially reporting to the probation office, the defendant will receive instructions from the court or the probation officer about how and when to report to the probation officer, and the defendant shall report to the probation officer as instructed.
  3. The defendant shall not knowingly leave the federal judicial district where he or she is authorized to reside without first getting permission from the court or the probation officer.
  4. The defendant shall answer truthfully the questions asked by the probation officer.
  5. The defendant shall live at a place approved by the probation officer. If the defendant plans to change where he or she lives or anything about his or her living arrangement (such as the people the defendant lives with), the defendant shall notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying the probation officer at least 10 days in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, the defendant shall notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.
  6. The defendant shall allow the probation officer to visit the defendant at any time at his or her home or elsewhere, and the defendant shall permit the probation officer to take any items prohibited by the conditions of the defendant’s supervision that he or she observes in plain view.
  7. The defendant shall work full time (at least 30 hours per week) at a lawful type of employment, unless the probation officer excuses the defendant from doing so. If the defendant does not have full-time employment he or she shall try to find full-time employment, unless the probation officer excuses the defendant from doing so. If the defendant plans to change where the defendant works or anything about his or her work (such as the position or the job responsibilities), the defendant shall notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying the probation officer at least 10 says in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, the defendant shall notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.
  8. The defendant shall not communicate or interact with someone the defendant knows is engaged in criminal activity. If the defendant knows someone has been convicted of a felony, the defendant shall not knowingly communicate or interact with that person without first getting the permission of the probation officer.
  9. If the defendant is arrested or questioned by a law enforcement officer, the defendant shall notify the probation officer within 72 hours.
  10. The defendant shall not own, possess, or have access to a firearm, ammunition, destructive device, or dangerous weapon (i.e., anything that was designed, or was modified for, the specific purpose of causing bodily injury or death to another person, such as nunchakus or tasers).
  11. The defendant shall not act or make any agreement with a law enforcement agency to act as a confidential human source or informant without first getting the permission of the court.
  12. If the probation officer determines that the defendant poses a risk to another person (including an organization), the probation officer may, after obtaining court approval, require the defendant to notify that person about the risk and the defendant shall comply with that instruction. The probation officer may contact the person and confirm that the defendant has notified the person about the risk.
  13. The defendant shall follow the instructions of the probation officer related to the conditions of supervision.

Travel Restrictions

Generally, you will not be allowed to travel outside the judicial district (the State of Wyoming) during the first 60 days of supervision.

It is your responsibility to keep your USPO informed of your whereabouts at all times. While you are on supervision, you may not travel outside the District of Wyoming without the permission of your USPO. You may travel freely within the state for day trips. However, if you are required to submit urinalysis and would like to travel within the state of Wyoming, you must obtain permission from your USPO if you will be unavailable for testing. Your USPO may require notification of any overnight travel or absence from your residence, even within the district of supervision. Permission to travel in-state may be granted orally or in writing. Keep in mind that travel is a privilege to be earned; it is not a “right.”

Travel requests outside of Wyoming, but within the United States, must be submitted to your USPO at least one week before you want to travel.

International travel must be approved by the Court or by the U.S. Parole Commission. Approval from the country to which you wish to travel may also be required. Your request must be submitted at least six weeks in advance. Exceptions may be made for emergencies such as serious family illness or death. These situations will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis and extensive communication with your USPO will be necessary.

Should travel be approved, you may be required to report to the U.S. Probation Office in the district to which you are traveling. You are required to contact your probation officer within 24 hours of your return.

If your application for travel is approved, you will be issued a written travel permit. You must keep the travel permit with you at all times during your trip. If you are stopped for any reason by a law enforcement officer, a records check may be conducted. The officer running the computerized check can determine if you are on federal supervision.

Travel may be denied if you are not in compliance with all conditions of supervision. It may also be denied if your Court-ordered financial obligations (e.g. fines, restitution, or special assessments) are not completely satisfied, or you are not current with your payment schedule. Additionally, your USPO may deny your travel request for the following reasons, although not inclusive of all reasons for denial:

  • You have pending criminal charges or are a registered sex offender;
  • Your conviction/past criminal behavior presents a travel risk or there is a third party risk;
  • Your travel plans are not verifiable;
  • Travel would interfere with Court-ordered treatment, drug testing or other conditions;
  • The district to which you wish to travel has certain restrictions which prohibit travel to their district (i.e. Nevada, South Dakota);
  • You are residing in a community corrections center or on home confinement;
  • You have recently tested positive for drugs and/or alcohol;
  • You have failed to comply with any condition imposed; i.e. submission of Monthly Supervision Reports; complete community service hours; missed treatment, etc.

For more information visit the links below:

Wyoming Sex Offender Registry Requirements

What is the Sex Offender Registry?

Every state and U.S. territory requires those convicted of sex offenses to be added to a registry to be monitored and tracked after their release back into the community.  Information about the offender is collected and shared with local and federal authorities, as well as the general public.  Requirements and restrictions are often placed on registered sex offenders.  That registration process is unique in each state and U.S. territory.

Reentry (2)

What is SORNA?

The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) was passed in 2006 as part of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act to provide federal standards for jurisdictions to follow.  SORNA calls for states and U.S. territories to meet minimum requirements for sex offender registration and notification.

Why Are the Requirements for Sex Offender Registration Different Everywhere?

While SORNA’s guidelines streamlined registration and notification requirements across the country, these requirements are far from uniform.  Each jurisdiction determines the details of their own registration process.  This leaves a patchwork of rules for sex offenders that vary widely depending on where a registrant lives or works.

Where PIN Comes In

Probation Information Network developed a list of questions regarding the sex offender registration requirements across the country.  These are questions that might concern the public, victims and their advocates, or those who are facing registration or are currently registered and their loved ones.  We then searched the statutes or code of each jurisdiction for the laws surrounding sex offender registration and notification.  Where necessary, we consulted with the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry to provide clear and concise answers to the following questions:

 

    • What is the duration of registration?

How long must a sex offender remain on the registry?  The length of time a sex offender must comply with registration requirements varies widely depending on the jurisdiction where the registrant lives, and the level of the offense committed.  All but 2 jurisdictions offer a path for eventual removal from the registry for at least some of their registrants.

 

    • Must the immediate community be notified directly, either by the offender or law enforcement?

Every jurisdiction has passive community notification in the form of a public sex offender registry website.  Concerned citizens are free to search the website and can sign up for email notifications if a sex offender moves into their neighborhood.  Some jurisdictions go even further and require active notification, where either law enforcement or the offender themselves is required to directly notify the immediate community that a sex offender is in the area.  This can take many forms, including electronic, mail, or in-person notification, publication in local newspapers, and community meetings.

 

    • What are the residence distance restrictions?

Are there any restrictions on where a registered sex offender can live?  Some jurisdictions restrict registrants from living within a measured distance of certain places.  This restriction could be for all registrants, or only for higher-level offenders or those under supervision.  Some jurisdictions do not have a state-wide restriction but do allow local jurisdictions to enact their own.

 

    • What are the employment distance restrictions?

Registered sex offenders are usually restricted from certain types of employment, and from working at establishments that specifically cater to minors.  Some jurisdictions go even further and restrict registrants from working within a measured distance of certain places.

 

    • Is an employer’s information included on the public registry?

Returning citizens of every type need to find employment upon reentry, and sex offenders are no exception.  Some jurisdictions include registrants’ employment information on the public registry website.  This could be the employer’s address or in some cases the name of the employer.

 

    • Are online identifiers included on the public registry?

Some jurisdictions require registered sex offenders to report any identifiers they use online, such as email addresses and social media user names.  In some jurisdictions that information is included on the public registry website, separate from the registrant’s profile, in a feature that allows the pubic to search by specific identifiers.

 

    • Is a state-issued ID required to be labeled?

Some jurisdictions require a state-issued ID, such as a driver’s license, to be labeled to identify the holder as a registered sex offender.  This label could be the words “Sex Offender” printed on the ID in a prominent place or a more subtle designation known to law enforcement.

 

    • What is the cost of registration?

Is there a fee to register as a sex offender?  Some jurisdictions pass on some of their administrative costs to the registrants.  This could be a one-time fee paid only upon initial registration, or an ongoing fee paid annually or quarterly.  Some jurisdictions charge a fee every time a registrant updates their information.

 

    • How long can a registrant be in the state for work or education before registration is required?

Does a sex offender have to register if they work or go to school in a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

    • How long can a registrant visit the state before registration is required?

Can a registered sex offender go on vacation?  Does a sex offender have to register if they visit a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

The answers provided are taken directly from the laws found on the state or territory’s legislative website or, where necessary, from the website of the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry.  In some cases, we contacted state or territory officials for clarification and have directly quoted those conversations.

Disclaimer

While we stand by our research, it is for informational purposes only.  It should not be considered legal advice and, while we strive to provide accurate and up to date information, it is not guaranteed to be complete or correct.  We provide links to each jurisdiction’s legislative and law enforcement websites and maintain a directory of lawyers who specialize in sex offender registration laws.  For those currently under supervision, consult with your Parole or Probation Officer for guidance.

WY Stat § 7-19-304

(a) The duty to register under W.S. 7-19-302 shall begin on the date of sentencing and continue for the duration of the offender’s life, subject to the following:

(i) An offender specified in W.S. 7-19-302(g) or adjudicated as a delinquent for offenses specified in W.S. 7-19-302(j), who has been registered for at least ten (10) years, exclusive of periods of confinement and periods in which the offender was not registered as required by law, may petition the district court for the district in which the offender is registered to be relieved of the duty to continue to register if the offender has maintained a clean record as provided in subsection (d) of this section. Upon a showing that the offender has maintained a clean record as provided in subsection (d) of this section for ten (10) years, the district court may order the offender relieved of the duty to continue registration;

 

(ii) An offender specified in W.S. 7-19-302(h) who has been registered for at least twenty-five (25) years, exclusive of periods of confinement and periods in which the offender was not registered as required by law, may petition the district court for the district in which the offender is registered to be relieved of the duty to continue to register if the offender has maintained a clean record as provided in subsection (d) of this section. Upon a showing that the offender has maintained a clean record as provided in subsection (d) of this section for twenty-five (25) years, the district court may order the offender relieved of the duty to continue registration;

 

(d) An offender seeking a reduction in his registration period as provided in paragraph (a)(i) or (ii) of this section shall demonstrate to the court that he has maintained a clean record by:

(i) Having no conviction of any offense for which imprisonment for more than one (1) year may be imposed;

(ii) Having no conviction of any sex offense;

(iii) Successfully completing any periods of supervised release, probation and parole; and

(iv) Successfully completing any sex offender treatment previously ordered by the trial court or by his probation or parole agent.

WY Stat § 7-19-303

(c) (ii) If the offender was convicted of an offense specified in W.S. 7-19-302(h) or (j), notification shall be provided by mail, personally or by any other means reasonably calculated to ensure delivery of the notice to residential neighbors within at least seven hundred fifty (750) feet of the offender’s residence, organizations in the community, including schools, religious and youth organizations by the sheriff or his designee. In addition, notification regarding an offender employed by or attending school at any educational institution shall be provided upon request by the educational institution to a member of the institution’s campus community as defined by subsection (h) of this section;

WY Stat § 6-2-320

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, no person who is eighteen (18) years of age or older who is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to W.S. 7-19-302 shall:

(iv) Reside within one thousand (1,000) feet of the property on which a school is located, measured from the nearest point of the exterior wall of the registered offender's dwelling unit to the school's property line, except that this paragraph shall not apply if the registered offender's residence was established prior to July 1, 2010.

None.

Yes.

 

WY Stat § 7-19-303

(c) (iii) Notification of registration under this act shall be provided to the public through a public registry, as well as to the persons and entities required by paragraph (ii) of this subsection. The division shall make the public registry available to the public, with the exception of internet identifiers, telephone numbers and adjudications as delinquent unless disclosure is authorized pursuant to W.S. 7-19-309, through electronic internet technology and shall include:

(K) The physical address of any employer that employs the offender;

No.

 

WY Stat § 7-19-303

(c) (iii) Notification of registration under this act shall be provided to the public through a public registry, as well as to the persons and entities required by paragraph (ii) of this subsection. The division shall make the public registry available to the public, with the exception of internet identifiers, telephone numbers and adjudications as delinquent unless disclosure is authorized pursuant to W.S. 7-19-309, through electronic internet technology and shall include:

No.

WY Stat § 7-19-302

(r) Except as provided in subsection (s) of this section, all offenders required to register or report updated information pursuant to this act shall pay fees established by rules of the division. The division shall establish fees in accordance with the following:

(i) At the time of initial registration, the offender shall pay a state registration fee in an amount not to exceed one hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) and a county registration fee in an amount equal to twenty-five percent (25%) of the state registration fee;

 

(ii) Each time the offender is required to report updated information pursuant to subsection (e), (f), (k) or (m) of this section, the offender shall pay a state reporting fee in an amount not to exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and a county reporting fee in an amount equal to twenty-five percent (25%) of the state reporting fee;

WY Stat § 7-19-302

(d) A nonresident who is employed or attends school in this state shall register with the county sheriff of the county in which he is employed or attends school within three (3) working days of beginning employment or starting to attend school. A resident or nonresident who is employed, resides or attends school in more than one (1) location in this state, shall register with the county sheriff of each county in which he is employed, resides or attends school within three (3) working days of beginning employment, establishing a residence in this state or starting to attend school. The registration information accepted under this subsection shall be subject to the provisions of W.S. 7-19-303.

The offender must register, in person, within three business days of changing residence. This includes temporary changes (vacation, etc) that are longer than three business days in duration.

– Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation