Restrictions for West Virginia

Review Supervised Release restrictions in each of the federal districts and the Sex Offender Registry requirements for the state of West Virginia

West Virginia Federal Districts:

Northern and Southern

Below you will find information on standard conditions of supervision and travel restrictions, as well as sex offender registry requirements. 

Always follow the conditions and restrictions given to you by your U.S. Probation Officer.

West Virginia District Map

Select your district below:

Northern District

Southern District

Northern District of West Virginia

Standard Conditions of Supervision

  1. You must report to the probation office in the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside within 72 hours of your release from imprisonment, unless the probation officer instructs you to report to a different probation office or within a different time frame.
  2. After initially reporting to the probation office, you will receive instructions from the court or the probation officer about how and when you must report to the probation officer, and you must report to the probation officer as instructed.
  3. You shall not commit another federal, state or local crime.
  4. You shall not unlawfully possess a controlled substance. You shall refrain from any unlawful use of a controlled substance. You shall submit to one drug test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and at least two periodic drug tests thereafter, as determined by the probation officer.
  5. You must not knowingly leave the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside without first getting permission from the court or the probation officer.
  6. You must answer truthfully the questions asked by your probation officer.
  7. You must live at a place approved by the probation officer. If you plan to change where you live or anything about your living arrangements (such as the people you live with), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying the probation officer in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.
  8. You must allow the probation officer to visit you at any time at your home or elsewhere, and you must permit the probation officer to take any items prohibited by the conditions of your supervision that he or she observes in plain view.
  9. You must work full time (at least 30 hours per week) at a lawful type of employment, unless the probation officer excuses you from doing so. If you do not have full-time employment you must try to find full-time employment, unless the probation officer excuses you from doing so. If you plan to change where you work or anything about your work (such as your position or your job responsibilities), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying the probation officer at least 10 days in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.
  10. You must not communicate or interact with someone you know is engaged in criminal activity. If you know someone has been convicted of a felony, you must not knowingly communicate or interact with that person without first getting the permission of the probation officer.
  11. If you are arrested or questioned by a law enforcement officer, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours.
  12. You must not own, possess, or have access to a firearm, ammunition, destructive device, or dangerous weapon (i.e., anything that was designed, or was modified for, the specific purpose of causing bodily injury or death to another person such as nunchakus or tasers).
  13. You must not act or make any agreement with a law enforcement agency to act as a confidential human source or informant without first getting the permission of the court.
  14. If the probation officer determines that you pose a risk to another person (including an organization), the probation officer may require you to notify the person about the risk and you must comply with that instruction. The probation officer may contact the person and confirm that you have notified the person about the risk.
  15. You shall not purchase, possess or consume any organic or synthetic intoxicants, including bath salts, synthetic cannabinoids or other designer stimulants.
  16. You shall not frequent places that sell or distribute synthetic cannabinoids or designer stimulants.
  17. Upon reasonable suspicion by the probation officer, you shall submit your person, property, house, residence, vehicle, papers, computers, or other electronic communications or data storage devices or media, or office, to a search conducted by a United States Probation Officer. Failure to submit to a search may be grounds for revocation of release. You shall warn any other occupants that the premises may be subject to searches pursuant to this condition.
  18. You are prohibited from possessing a potentially vicious or dangerous animal or residing with anyone who possesses a potentially vicious or dangerous animal. The probation officer has sole authority to determine what animals are considered to be potentially vicious or dangerous.
  19. You must follow the instructions of the probation officer related to the conditions of supervision.

Travel Restrictions

The Northern District of West Virginia is composed of 32 counties. You are allowed to travel freely within these 32 counties. Unless you are given permission in advance by the judge in your case, any requests to travel outside of these 32 counties must be approved in advance by your U.S. Probation Officer.

Failure to do so may result in a violation of your supervision.

For more information visit the links below:

Southern District of West Virginia

Standard Conditions of Supervision

  1. If the offender is unemployed, the probation officer may direct the offender to register and remain active with Workforce West Virginia.
  2. Offenders shall submit to random urinalysis or any drug screening method whenever the same is deemed appropriate by the probation officer and shall participate in a substance abuse program as directed by the probation officer. Offenders shall not use any method or device to evade a drug screen.
  3. As directed by the probation officer, the defendant will make co-payments for drug testing and drug treatment services at rates determined by the probation officer in accordance with a court-approved schedule based on ability to pay and availability of third-party payments.
  4. A term of community service is imposed on every offender on supervised release or probation. Fifty hours of community service is imposed on every offender for each year the offender is on supervised release or probation. The obligation for community service is waived if the offender remains fully employed or actively seeks such employment throughout the year.
  5. The defendant shall not possess a firearm, ammunition, destructive device, or any other dangerous weapon.
  6. You must report to the probation office in the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside within 72 hours of your release from imprisonment, unless the probation officer instructs you to report to a different probation office or within a different time frame.1
  7. After initially reporting to the probation office, you will receive instructions from the court or the probation officer about how and when you must report to the probation officer, and you must report to the probation officer as instructed.
  8. You must not knowingly leave the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside without first getting permission from the court or the probation officer.
  9. You must answer truthfully the questions asked by your probation officer.
  10. You must live at a place approved by the probation officer. If you plan to change where you live or anything about your living arrangements (such as the people you live with), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying the probation officer in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.
  11. You must allow the probation officer to visit you at any time at your home or elsewhere, and you must permit the probation officer to take any items prohibited by the conditions of your supervision that he or she observes in plain view.
  12. You must work full time (at least 30 hours per week) at a lawful type of employment, unless the probation officer excuses you from doing so.  If you do not have full-time employment you must try to find full-time employment, unless the probation officer excuses you from doing so. If you plan to change where you work or anything about your work (such as your position or your job responsibilities), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying the probation officer at least 10 days in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.
  13. You must not communicate or interact with someone you know is engaged in criminal activity.  If you know someone has been convicted of a felony, you must not knowingly communicate or interact with that person without first getting the permission of the probation officer.
  14. If you are arrested or questioned by a law enforcement officer, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours.
  15. You must not own, possess, or have access to a firearm, ammunition, destructive device, or dangerous weapon (i.e., anything that was designed, or was modified for, the specific purpose of causing bodily injury or death to another person such as nunchakus or tasers).
  16. You must not act or make any agreement with a law enforcement agency to act as a confidential human source or informant without first getting the permission of the court.
  17. If the probation officer determines that you pose a risk to another person (including an organization), the probation officer may require you to notify the person about the risk and you must comply with that instruction.  The probation officer may contact the person and confirm that you have notified the person about the risk.
  18. You must follow the instructions of the probation officer related to the conditions of supervision.

Travel Restrictions

The Southern District of West Virginia is composed of 23 counties. You are allowed to travel freely within these 23 counties. Unless you are given permission in advance by the judge in your case, any requests to travel outside of these 23  counties must be approved in advance by your U.S. Probation Officer.

Failure to do so may result in a violation of your supervision.

For more information visit the links below:

West Virginia Sex Offender Registry Requirements

What is the Sex Offender Registry?

Every state and U.S. territory requires those convicted of sex offenses to be added to a registry to be monitored and tracked after their release back into the community.  Information about the offender is collected and shared with local and federal authorities, as well as the general public.  Requirements and restrictions are often placed on registered sex offenders.  That registration process is unique in each state and U.S. territory.

Reentry (2)

What is SORNA?

The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) was passed in 2006 as part of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act to provide federal standards for jurisdictions to follow.  SORNA calls for states and U.S. territories to meet minimum requirements for sex offender registration and notification.

Why Are the Requirements for Sex Offender Registration Different Everywhere?

While SORNA’s guidelines streamlined registration and notification requirements across the country, these requirements are far from uniform.  Each jurisdiction determines the details of their own registration process.  This leaves a patchwork of rules for sex offenders that vary widely depending on where a registrant lives or works.

Where PIN Comes In

Probation Information Network developed a list of questions regarding the sex offender registration requirements across the country.  These are questions that might concern the public, victims and their advocates, or those who are facing registration or are currently registered and their loved ones.  We then searched the statutes or code of each jurisdiction for the laws surrounding sex offender registration and notification.  Where necessary, we consulted with the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry to provide clear and concise answers to the following questions:

 

    • What is the duration of registration?

How long must a sex offender remain on the registry?  The length of time a sex offender must comply with registration requirements varies widely depending on the jurisdiction where the registrant lives, and the level of the offense committed.  All but 2 jurisdictions offer a path for eventual removal from the registry for at least some of their registrants.

 

    • Must the immediate community be notified directly, either by the offender or law enforcement?

Every jurisdiction has passive community notification in the form of a public sex offender registry website.  Concerned citizens are free to search the website and can sign up for email notifications if a sex offender moves into their neighborhood.  Some jurisdictions go even further and require active notification, where either law enforcement or the offender themselves is required to directly notify the immediate community that a sex offender is in the area.  This can take many forms, including electronic, mail, or in-person notification, publication in local newspapers, and community meetings.

 

    • What are the residence distance restrictions?

Are there any restrictions on where a registered sex offender can live?  Some jurisdictions restrict registrants from living within a measured distance of certain places.  This restriction could be for all registrants, or only for higher-level offenders or those under supervision.  Some jurisdictions do not have a state-wide restriction but do allow local jurisdictions to enact their own.

 

    • What are the employment distance restrictions?

Registered sex offenders are usually restricted from certain types of employment, and from working at establishments that specifically cater to minors.  Some jurisdictions go even further and restrict registrants from working within a measured distance of certain places.

 

    • Is an employer’s information included on the public registry?

Returning citizens of every type need to find employment upon reentry, and sex offenders are no exception.  Some jurisdictions include registrants’ employment information on the public registry website.  This could be the employer’s address or in some cases the name of the employer.

 

    • Are online identifiers included on the public registry?

Some jurisdictions require registered sex offenders to report any identifiers they use online, such as email addresses and social media user names.  In some jurisdictions that information is included on the public registry website, separate from the registrant’s profile, in a feature that allows the pubic to search by specific identifiers.

 

    • Is a state-issued ID required to be labeled?

Some jurisdictions require a state-issued ID, such as a driver’s license, to be labeled to identify the holder as a registered sex offender.  This label could be the words “Sex Offender” printed on the ID in a prominent place or a more subtle designation known to law enforcement.

 

    • What is the cost of registration?

Is there a fee to register as a sex offender?  Some jurisdictions pass on some of their administrative costs to the registrants.  This could be a one-time fee paid only upon initial registration, or an ongoing fee paid annually or quarterly.  Some jurisdictions charge a fee every time a registrant updates their information.

 

    • How long can a registrant be in the state for work or education before registration is required?

Does a sex offender have to register if they work or go to school in a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

    • How long can a registrant visit the state before registration is required?

Can a registered sex offender go on vacation?  Does a sex offender have to register if they visit a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

The answers provided are taken directly from the laws found on the state or territory’s legislative website or, where necessary, from the website of the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry.  In some cases, we contacted state or territory officials for clarification and have directly quoted those conversations.

Disclaimer

While we stand by our research, it is for informational purposes only.  It should not be considered legal advice and, while we strive to provide accurate and up to date information, it is not guaranteed to be complete or correct.  We provide links to each jurisdiction’s legislative and law enforcement websites and maintain a directory of lawyers who specialize in sex offender registration laws.  For those currently under supervision, consult with your Parole or Probation Officer for guidance.

WV Code § 15-12-4

(a) A person required to register under the terms of this article shall continue to comply with this section, except during ensuing periods of incarceration or confinement, until:

(1) Ten years have elapsed since the person was released from prison, jail, or a mental health facility or 10 years have elapsed since the person was placed on probation, parole, or supervised or conditional release. The 10-year registration period may not be reduced by the sex offender’s release from probation, parole, or supervised or conditional release; or

 

(2) For the life of that person, if that person: (A) Has one or more prior convictions or has previously been found not guilty by reason of mental illness, mental retardation, or addiction for any qualifying offense referred to in this article; (B) has been convicted or has been found not guilty by reason of mental illness, mental retardation, or addiction of a qualifying offense as referred to in this article, and upon motion of the prosecuting attorney, the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the qualifying offense involved multiple victims or multiple violations of the qualifying offense; (C) has been convicted or has been found not guilty by reason of mental illness, mental retardation, or addiction of a sexually violent offense; (D) has been determined pursuant to §15-12-2a of this code to be a sexually violent predator; or (E) has been convicted or has been found not guilty by reason of mental illness, mental retardation, or addiction of a qualifying offense as referred to in this article, involving a minor or a person believed or perceived by the registrant to be a minor.

WV Code § 15-12-5

(b) (1) When a person has been determined to be a sexually violent predator under the terms of section two-a of this article, the State Police shall notify the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the person resides, owns or leases habitable real property that he or she regularly visits, is employed or attends a school or training facility. The prosecuting attorney shall cooperate with the State Police in conducting a community notification program which is to include publication of the offender's name, photograph, place of residence, location of regularly visited habitable real property owned or leased by the offender, county of employment and place at which the offender attends school or a training facility, as well as information concerning the legal rights and obligations of both the offender and the community. Information relating to the victim of an offense requiring registration may not be released to the public except to the extent the prosecuting attorney and the State Police consider it necessary to best educate the public as to the nature of sexual offenses: Provided, That no victim's name may be released in any public notification pursuant to this subsection. No information relating to telephone or electronic paging device numbers a registrant has or uses may be released to the public with this notification program. The prosecuting attorney and State Police may conduct a community notification program in the county where a person who is required to register for life under the terms of subdivision (2), subsection (a), section four of this article resides, owns or leases habitable real property that he or she regularly visits, is employed or attends a school or training facility. Community notification may be repeated when determined to be appropriate by the prosecuting attorney;

The West Virginia State Police has no legal authority to direct where a sex offender may or may not live, and additionally, unless specific court ordered restrictions exist, offenders are constitutionally free to live wherever and with whomever they choose.

            – West Virginia State Police

None.

Only the names of the city and county where the registrant is employed are provided.

While offenders must register online identifiers [WV Code § 15-12-2 (d) (8)], this information is not included on the public registry.

Yes, with a code under Restrictions.

 

WV Code § 17B-2-3

(b) The division may not issue a license or nondriver identification card to any person required to register as a sexually violent predator pursuant to the provisions of article twelve, chapter fifteen, unless he or she obtains a driver's license or nondriver identification card coded by the commissioner to denote that he or she is a sexually violent predator as follows:

(1) If a person is judicially determined to be a sexually violent predator after the effective date of this section, the sentencing court shall order the person or the agency with custody of the person's driver's license or nondriver identification card to surrender said license or card to the court. The sentencing court shall forward to the division all driver's licenses or nondriver identification cards that it receives pursuant to this section, along with a copy of the sentencing order. If a person is registered as a sexually violent predator pursuant to section nine, article twelve, chapter fifteen of this code after the effective date of this section as amended and reenacted during the first extraordinary session of the 2006 Legislature, the person shall surrender their driver's license or nondriver identification card to the division within ten days of their registration with the State Police. Any replacement driver's license or nondriver identification card issued to the person under this section must be coded by the commissioner to denote the person is a sexually violent predator and shall be issued at no cost to the person.

There is no state-mandated fee, though fees may be assessed by local law enforcement.

WV Code § 15-12-9

(b) Any person:

(1) Who resides in another state or federal or military jurisdiction;

(2) Who is employed, carries on a vocation, is a student in this state, is a visitor to this state for a period of more than fifteen continuous days or owns or leases habitable real property in this state that he or she regularly visits; and

(3) Who is required by the state, federal or military jurisdiction in which he or she resides to register in that state, federal or military jurisdiction as a sex offender, or has been convicted of a violation in that state, federal or military jurisdiction that is similar to a violation in this article requiring registration as a sex offender in this state, shall register in this state and otherwise comply with the provisions of this article.

WV Code § 15-12-9

(b) Any person:

(1) Who resides in another state or federal or military jurisdiction;

(2) Who is employed, carries on a vocation, is a student in this state, is a visitor to this state for a period of more than fifteen continuous days or owns or leases habitable real property in this state that he or she regularly visits; and

(3) Who is required by the state, federal or military jurisdiction in which he or she resides to register in that state, federal or military jurisdiction as a sex offender, or has been convicted of a violation in that state, federal or military jurisdiction that is similar to a violation in this article requiring registration as a sex offender in this state, shall register in this state and otherwise comply with the provisions of this article.