Restrictions for Maine

Review Supervised Release restrictions in this federal district and the Sex Offender Registry requirements for the state of Maine

District of Maine

Below you will find information on standard conditions of supervision and travel restrictions, as well as sex offender registry requirements. 

Always follow the conditions and restrictions given to you by your U.S. Probation Officer.

Maine district map

District of Maine

Standard Conditions of Supervision

As part of your supervised release/probation, you must comply with the following standard conditions of supervision.  These conditions are imposed because they establish the basic expectations for your behavior while on supervision and identify the minimum tools needed by probation officers to keep informed, report to the court about, and bring about improvements in your conduct and condition.

  1. You must report to the probation office in the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside within 72 hours of your release from imprisonment, unless the probation officer instructs you to report to a different probation office or within a different time frame;
  2. After initially reporting to the probation office, you will receive instructions from the court or the probation officer about how and when you must report to the probation officer, and you must report to the probation officer as instructed;
  3. You must not knowingly leave the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside without first getting permission from the court or the probation officer;
  4. You must answer truthfully the questions asked by your probation officer;
  5. You must live at a place approved by the probation officer.  If you plan to change where you live or anything about your living arrangements (such as the people you live with), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change.  If notifying the probation officer in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change;
  6. You must allow the probation officer to visit you at any time at your home or elsewhere, and you must permit the probation officer to take any items prohibited by the conditions of your supervision that he or she observes in plain view;
  7. You must work full time (at least 30 hours per week) at a lawful type of employment, unless the probation officer excuses you from doing so.  If you do not have full-time employment you must try to find full-time employment, unless the probation officer excuses you from doing so.  If you plan to change where you work or anything about your work (such as your position or your job responsibilities), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change.  If notifying the probation officer at least 10 days in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours of becoming aware of a change or expected change;
  8. You must not communicate or interact with someone you know is engaged in criminal activity.  If you know someone has been convicted of a felony, you must not knowingly communicate or interact with that person without first getting the permission of the probation officer;
  9. If you are arrested or questioned by a law enforcement officer, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours;
  10. You must not own, possess, or have access to a firearm, ammunition, destructive device, or dangerous weapon (i.e., anything that was designed, or was modified for, the specific purpose of causing bodily injury or death to another person such as nunchakus or tasers);
  11. You must not act or make any agreement with a law enforcement agency to act as a confidential human source or informant without first getting the permission of the court;
  12. If the probation officer determines that you pose a risk to another person (including an organization), the probation officer may require you to notify the person about the risk and you must comply with that instruction.  The probation officer may contact the person and confirm that you have notified the person about the risk; and
  13. You must follow the instructions of the probation officer related to the conditions of supervision.

Travel Restrictions

Permission to travel must be obtained from your U.S. Probation Officer or designee.  A completed the travel request form must be submitted to your probation officer two (2) weeks before the day you desire to leave. The only exception to this rule is in the case of an emergency.

No travel is allowed within the first 60 days of supervision. Travel is limited to 4 weeks per year.

You do not need permission to travel within the State of Maine; however, if you will be away for 48 hours or more, you need to notify your U.S. Probation Officer.

For full details regarding travel restrictions for the District of Maine see PDF below:

For more information visit the links below:

Maine Sex Offender Registry Requirements

Pre-2013 applies to a person sentenced prior to January 1, 2013.
Post-2013 applies to a person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced on or after January 1, 2013.

What is the Sex Offender Registry?

Every state and U.S. territory requires those convicted of sex offenses to be added to a registry to be monitored and tracked after their release back into the community.  Information about the offender is collected and shared with local and federal authorities, as well as the general public.  Requirements and restrictions are often placed on registered sex offenders.  That registration process is unique in each state and U.S. territory.

Reentry (2)

What is SORNA?

The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) was passed in 2006 as part of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act to provide federal standards for jurisdictions to follow.  SORNA calls for states and U.S. territories to meet minimum requirements for sex offender registration and notification.

Why Are the Requirements for Sex Offender Registration Different Everywhere?

While SORNA’s guidelines streamlined registration and notification requirements across the country, these requirements are far from uniform.  Each jurisdiction determines the details of their own registration process.  This leaves a patchwork of rules for sex offenders that vary widely depending on where a registrant lives or works.

Where PIN Comes In

Probation Information Network developed a list of questions regarding the sex offender registration requirements across the country.  These are questions that might concern the public, victims and their advocates, or those who are facing registration or are currently registered and their loved ones.  We then searched the statutes or code of each jurisdiction for the laws surrounding sex offender registration and notification.  Where necessary, we consulted with the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry to provide clear and concise answers to the following questions:

 

    • What is the duration of registration?

How long must a sex offender remain on the registry?  The length of time a sex offender must comply with registration requirements varies widely depending on the jurisdiction where the registrant lives, and the level of the offense committed.  All but 2 jurisdictions offer a path for eventual removal from the registry for at least some of their registrants.

 

    • Must the immediate community be notified directly, either by the offender or law enforcement?

Every jurisdiction has passive community notification in the form of a public sex offender registry website.  Concerned citizens are free to search the website and can sign up for email notifications if a sex offender moves into their neighborhood.  Some jurisdictions go even further and require active notification, where either law enforcement or the offender themselves is required to directly notify the immediate community that a sex offender is in the area.  This can take many forms, including electronic, mail, or in-person notification, publication in local newspapers, and community meetings.

 

    • What are the residence distance restrictions?

Are there any restrictions on where a registered sex offender can live?  Some jurisdictions restrict registrants from living within a measured distance of certain places.  This restriction could be for all registrants, or only for higher-level offenders or those under supervision.  Some jurisdictions do not have a state-wide restriction but do allow local jurisdictions to enact their own.

 

    • What are the employment distance restrictions?

Registered sex offenders are usually restricted from certain types of employment, and from working at establishments that specifically cater to minors.  Some jurisdictions go even further and restrict registrants from working within a measured distance of certain places.

 

    • Is an employer’s information included on the public registry?

Returning citizens of every type need to find employment upon reentry, and sex offenders are no exception.  Some jurisdictions include registrants’ employment information on the public registry website.  This could be the employer’s address or in some cases the name of the employer.

 

    • Are online identifiers included on the public registry?

Some jurisdictions require registered sex offenders to report any identifiers they use online, such as email addresses and social media user names.  In some jurisdictions that information is included on the public registry website, separate from the registrant’s profile, in a feature that allows the pubic to search by specific identifiers.

 

    • Is a state-issued ID required to be labeled?

Some jurisdictions require a state-issued ID, such as a driver’s license, to be labeled to identify the holder as a registered sex offender.  This label could be the words “Sex Offender” printed on the ID in a prominent place or a more subtle designation known to law enforcement.

 

    • What is the cost of registration?

Is there a fee to register as a sex offender?  Some jurisdictions pass on some of their administrative costs to the registrants.  This could be a one-time fee paid only upon initial registration, or an ongoing fee paid annually or quarterly.  Some jurisdictions charge a fee every time a registrant updates their information.

 

    • How long can a registrant be in the state for work or education before registration is required?

Does a sex offender have to register if they work or go to school in a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

    • How long can a registrant visit the state before registration is required?

Can a registered sex offender go on vacation?  Does a sex offender have to register if they visit a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

The answers provided are taken directly from the laws found on the state or territory’s legislative website or, where necessary, from the website of the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry.  In some cases, we contacted state or territory officials for clarification and have directly quoted those conversations.

Disclaimer

While we stand by our research, it is for informational purposes only.  It should not be considered legal advice and, while we strive to provide accurate and up to date information, it is not guaranteed to be complete or correct.  We provide links to each jurisdiction’s legislative and law enforcement websites and maintain a directory of lawyers who specialize in sex offender registration laws.  For those currently under supervision, consult with your Parole or Probation Officer for guidance.

Pre-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11225-A

  1. Ten-year registrant convicted and sentenced in State. The following provisions apply to a 10-year registrant convicted and sentenced in this State.

B. A 10-year registrant sentenced in this State shall register for a period of 10 years. The 10-year period is calculated as follows.

(1) If the 10-year registrant was sentenced prior to September 18, 1999 to a wholly suspended sentence with probation or administrative release or to a punishment alternative not involving imprisonment, the 10-year period is treated as having begun at the time the person commenced an actual execution of the wholly suspended sentence or at the time of sentence imposition when no punishment alternative involving imprisonment was imposed, unless the court ordered a stay of execution, in which event the 10-year period is treated as having begun at the termination of the stay.

 

(2) If the 10-year registrant was sentenced prior to September 18, 1999 to a straight term of imprisonment or to a split sentence, the 10-year period is treated as having begun at the time of discharge or conditional release.

 

(3) If the 10-year registrant was committed under Title 15, section 103 prior to September 18, 1999, the 10-year period is treated as having begun at the time of discharge or conditional release under Title 15, section 104-A.

 

(4) If the 10-year registrant was sentenced prior to September 18, 1999 and the person's duty to register has not yet been triggered, the 10-year period commences upon registration by the person in compliance with section 11222, subsection 1-A, paragraph A, B or C.

 

(5) If the 10-year registrant was sentenced on or after September 18, 1999, the 10-year period commences from the date the person in fact initially registers once the legal duty to register arises under section 11222.

 

2. Ten-year registrant convicted and sentenced in another jurisdiction. The following provisions apply to a 10-year registrant convicted and sentenced in another jurisdiction and required to register in this State pursuant to section 11223, section 11224 or both.

 

A. A 10-year registrant shall register in this State for a period of 10 years if, pursuant to the other jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute, the registration period is for a period of years rather than for a lifetime. The 10-year period commences from the date the person in fact initially registers in this State once the legal duty to register arises under section 11223, section 11224 or both. However, the 10-year registrant may receive day-for-day credit for the time actually registered pursuant to the other jurisdiction's sex offender registration statutes prior to registering in this State upon applying to the bureau for credit. The bureau may grant credit if the registrant provides sufficient documentation in accordance with any rules adopted by the bureau.

 

B. A 10-year registrant shall register for a period of 10 years if registration was not required in that other jurisdiction and the person was sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 in that jurisdiction for a crime that includes the essential elements of a sex offense. The 10-year period is calculated by applying subsection 1, paragraph B, subparagraphs (1) to (4) but interpreted and applied to take into account substantially similar sentencing alternatives imposed in the other jurisdiction.

 

3. Lifetime registrant convicted and sentenced in this State. A lifetime registrant sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 in this State shall register for the duration of that registrant's life.

 

4. Lifetime registrant convicted and sentenced in another jurisdiction. The following provisions apply to a lifetime registrant convicted and sentenced in another jurisdiction and required to register in this State pursuant to section 11223, section 11224 or both.

 

A. A person shall register in this State for the duration of that person's life if, pursuant to that other jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute, the registration period is for a lifetime.

 

B. A person shall register in this State for the duration of that person's life if no registration was required in that other jurisdiction and the person was sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 in that jurisdiction for a crime that includes the essential elements of a sexually violent offense or the person has 2 or more prior convictions in that or any other jurisdiction for an offense or for an attempted offense that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or a sexually violent offense.

 

Post-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11282

7 A. A Tier III registrant shall register for the duration of the registrant's life and shall verify registration information every 3 months after the registrant's initial registration date.

B. A Tier II registrant shall register for 25 years and shall verify registration information every 6 months after the registrant's initial registration date.

C. A Tier I registrant shall register for 10 years and shall verify registration information annually after the registrant's initial registration date.

Pre- and Post-2013 No.

Pre- and Post-2013

Maine’s registration laws do not include any restrictions on where a person may live.

 

If a person’s sentence includes probation or supervised release, there may be special conditions regarding where that person is permitted to live, work, or travel. This may be true whether or not the person is required to register.

 

Some towns have enacted ordinances limiting where convicted sex offenders may live. These ordinances only apply within the towns that have adopted them, and can only apply to persons convicted of serious crimes (Class A, B or C) against children under 14. You can contact the town office to ask whether a particular town has adopted such ordinances.

 

            – Department of Public Safety, Maine State Police

Pre- and Post-2013 None.

Yes.

 

Pre-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11221

9. Public access to information.  The bureau shall provide information to the public as follows.

A. The bureau shall post on the Internet for public inspection the following information concerning a registrant:

(3) The registrant's place of employment and college or school being attended, if applicable, and the corresponding address and location;

 

Post-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11281

7. Public access to registrant information.  After initial registration, the bureau shall provide information to the public as follows.

A. The bureau shall post on the Internet for public inspection the following information concerning a registrant who is a Tier I registrant, Tier II registrant or Tier III registrant:

(3) The registrant's place of employment and college or school being attended, if applicable, and the corresponding mailing address and physical location;

Pre-2013 No.

 

Post-2013 While offenders must register online identifiers [34-A ME Rev Stat § 11281.1.A], this information is not included on the public registry.

Pre- and Post-2013 No.

Pre-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11226

The bureau may charge a $25 annual fee to persons required to register under this chapter. Registrants shall pay the fee at the time of initial registration and shall pay the fee on each anniversary of their initial registration.

 

Post-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11287

The bureau may charge a $25 annual fee to persons required to register under this chapter. Registrants shall pay the fee at the time of initial registration and shall pay the fee on each anniversary of their initial registration.

In Maine, registrants must register with two separate entities: Local Law Enforcement and the Registry.

 

A registrant must notify local law enforcement within 24 hours of entering the state.

 

A registrant must verbally notify the registry within 5 days for Pre-2013 or 3 days for Post-2013, but do not have to fully register unless in the state for 14 consecutive days or more than 30 days in a calendar year.

 

– Department of Public Safety, Maine State Police

 

Pre-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11224

1. Time.  A person who has been sentenced at any time for a military, tribal or federal offense requiring registration pursuant to the Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, also known as the Jacob Wetterling Act, Section 170101 of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Public Law 103-322, as amended; or the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public Law 109-248; or in a jurisdiction other than this State and who is required under that jurisdiction to register pursuant to that jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute or would have been required to register if the person had remained in that jurisdiction or, if not so required, who has been sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 for an offense that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or a sexually violent offense shall register as a 10-year registrant or lifetime registrant, whichever is applicable, within 5 days and shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction:

A. Within 24 hours of beginning full-time or part-time employment, with or without compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year in this State; or

B. Within 24 hours of beginning college or school on a full-time or part-time basis in this State.

 

Post-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11284

1. Time.  A person who has been sentenced for a military, tribal or federal offense requiring registration pursuant to the federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public Law 109-248, 42 United States Code, Chapter 151 or in a jurisdiction other than this State and who is required under that jurisdiction to register pursuant to that jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute or would have been required to register if the person had remained in that jurisdiction or, if not so required, who has been sentenced for an offense that includes the essential elements of a Tier I, Tier II or Tier III offense shall register as a Tier I registrant, a Tier II registrant or a Tier III registrant, whichever is applicable, within 3 days and shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction:

A. Within 24 hours of beginning full-time or part-time employment, with or without compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year in this State; or

B. Within 24 hours of beginning college or school on a full-time or part-time basis in this State.

In Maine, registrants must register with two separate entities: Local Law Enforcement and the Registry.

 

A registrant must notify local law enforcement within 24 hours of entering the state.

 

A registrant must verbally notify the registry within 5 days for Pre-2013 or 3 days for Post-2013, but do not have to fully register unless in the state for 14 consecutive days or more than 30 days in a calendar year.

 

            – Department of Public Safety, Maine State Police

 

Pre-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11223

A person sentenced at any time for a military, tribal or federal offense requiring registration pursuant to the Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, also known as the Jacob Wetterling Act, Section 170101 of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Public Law 103-322, as amended; or the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public Law 109-248; or in a jurisdiction other than this State who is required under that jurisdiction to register pursuant to that jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute or would have been required to register if the person had remained in the jurisdiction or, if not so required, who has been sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 for an offense that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or a sexually violent offense shall register as a 10-year registrant or lifetime registrant, whichever is applicable, within 5 days and shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction within 24 hours of establishing domicile or residence in this State. The person shall contact the bureau, which shall provide the person with the registration form and direct the person to take the form and a photograph of the person to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction. The law enforcement agency shall supervise the completion of the form, take the person's fingerprints and immediately forward the form, photograph and fingerprints to the bureau.

 

34-A ME Rev Stat § 11203

4-D. Residence.  "Residence" means that place or those places, other than a domicile, in which a person may spend time living, residing or dwelling. Proof that an offender has lived in the State for 14 days continuously or an aggregate of 30 days within a period of one year gives rise to a permissible inference under the Maine Rules of Evidence, Rule 303 that the person has established a residence for the purposes of registration requirements imposed by this chapter.  

 

Post-2013 34-A ME Rev Stat § 11283

A person who has been sentenced for a military, tribal or federal offense requiring registration pursuant to the federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public Law 109-248, 42 United States Code, Chapter 151 or in a jurisdiction other than this State who is required under that jurisdiction to register pursuant to that jurisdiction's sex offender registration statute or would have been required to register if the person had remained in the jurisdiction or, if not so required, who has been sentenced for an offense that includes the essential elements of a Tier I, Tier II or Tier III offense shall register as a Tier I registrant, a Tier II registrant or a Tier III registrant, whichever is applicable, within 3 days and shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction within 24 hours of establishing domicile or residence in this State. The person shall contact the bureau, which shall provide the person with the registration form and direct the person to take the form and a current photograph of the person to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction. The law enforcement agency shall supervise the completion of the form, take the person's fingerprints and immediately forward the form, photograph and fingerprints to the bureau.

 

34-A ME Rev Stat § 11273

12. Residence.  "Residence" means that place or those places, other than a domicile, in which a person may spend time living, residing or dwelling. Proof that an offender has lived in the State for 14 days continuously or an aggregate of 30 days within a period of one year gives rise to a permissible inference under the Maine Rules of Evidence, Rule 303 that the person has established a residence for the purposes of registration requirements imposed by this chapter.