Restrictions for Kansas

Review Supervised Release restrictions in this federal district and the Sex Offender Registry requirements for the state of Kansas

District of Kansas

Below you will find information on standard conditions of supervision and travel restrictions, as well as sex offender registry requirements. 

Always follow the conditions and restrictions given to you by your U.S. Probation Officer.

Kansas district map

District of Kansas

Standard Conditions of Probation & Supervision

All persons placed on probation or supervised release by any judge or magistrate judge of this district, in addition to any special conditions ordered by the judge or magistrate judge, shall comply with the following conditions of probation or supervised release:

  1. The person shall not commit another federal, state, or local crime during the term of supervision;
  2. The person shall not leave the judicial district or other specified geographic area without the permission of the court or probation officer;
  3. The person shall report to the probation officer as directed by the court or probation officer, and shall submit a truthful and complete written report within the first five days of each month;
  4. The person shall answer truthfully all inquiries by the probation officer and follow the instructions of the probation officer;
  5. The person shall support his or her dependents and meet other family responsibilities;
  6. The person shall work regularly at a lawful occupation unless excused by the probation officer for schooling, training, or other acceptable reasons;
  7. The person shall notify the probation officer within 72 hours of any change in residence or employment;
  8. The person shall refrain from excessive use of alcohol and shall not purchase, possess, use, distribute, or administer any narcotic or other controlled substance, or any paraphernalia related to such substances, except as prescribed by a physician;
  9. The person shall not frequent places where controlled substances are illegally sold, used, distributed, or administer any narcotic or other controlled substance, or any paraphernalia related to such substances, except as prescribed by a physician;
  10. The person shall not associate with any persons engaged in criminal activity, and shall not associate with any person convicted of a felony unless granted permission to do so by the probation officer;
  11. The person shall permit a probation officer to visit at any time at home or elsewhere and shall permit confiscation of any contraband observed in plain view by the probation officer;
  12. The person shall notify the probation officer within 72 hours of being arrested or questioned by a law enforcement officer;
  13. The person shall not enter into any agreement to act as an informer or a special agent of a law enforcement agency without the permission of the court;
  14. As directed by the probation officer, the person shall notify third parties of risks that may be occasioned by his or her criminal record or personal history or characteristics, and shall permit the probation officer to make such notification and to confirm his or her compliance with such notification requirement.

Travel Restrictions

The District of Kansas prohibits travel out of the State of Kansas during the initial 60 days of supervision. Exceptions to this rule will be made only on a case-by-case basis, with regard to emergency and business related travel.

After the initial 60 day period, all travel outside the district requires authorization from the U.S. Probation Office, regardless of whether it is a business or pleasure trip. Please keep in mind that travel is a privilege and is contingent on full compliance with your conditions, including being current on any court ordered financial obligations.

Upon your return please submit verification of your travel (Example: Hotel, Gasoline Receipt).

When requesting travel, it is necessary that you submit a written travel itinerary at least fourteen (14) days prior to the departure date.

Kansas Offender Registration Act

In addition to sex offenders, Kansas requires registration for certain drug and violent offenders.  For more information, see the PDF in the link below:

For more information visit the links below:

Kansas Sex Offender Registry Requirements

What is the Sex Offender Registry?

Every state and U.S. territory requires those convicted of sex offenses to be added to a registry to be monitored and tracked after their release back into the community.  Information about the offender is collected and shared with local and federal authorities, as well as the general public.  Requirements and restrictions are often placed on registered sex offenders.  That registration process is unique in each state and U.S. territory.

Reentry (2)

What is SORNA?

The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) was passed in 2006 as part of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act to provide federal standards for jurisdictions to follow.  SORNA calls for states and U.S. territories to meet minimum requirements for sex offender registration and notification.

Why Are the Requirements for Sex Offender Registration Different Everywhere?

While SORNA’s guidelines streamlined registration and notification requirements across the country, these requirements are far from uniform.  Each jurisdiction determines the details of their own registration process.  This leaves a patchwork of rules for sex offenders that vary widely depending on where a registrant lives or works.

Where PIN Comes In

Probation Information Network developed a list of questions regarding the sex offender registration requirements across the country.  These are questions that might concern the public, victims and their advocates, or those who are facing registration or are currently registered and their loved ones.  We then searched the statutes or code of each jurisdiction for the laws surrounding sex offender registration and notification.  Where necessary, we consulted with the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry to provide clear and concise answers to the following questions:

 

    • What is the duration of registration?

How long must a sex offender remain on the registry?  The length of time a sex offender must comply with registration requirements varies widely depending on the jurisdiction where the registrant lives, and the level of the offense committed.  All but 2 jurisdictions offer a path for eventual removal from the registry for at least some of their registrants.

 

    • Must the immediate community be notified directly, either by the offender or law enforcement?

Every jurisdiction has passive community notification in the form of a public sex offender registry website.  Concerned citizens are free to search the website and can sign up for email notifications if a sex offender moves into their neighborhood.  Some jurisdictions go even further and require active notification, where either law enforcement or the offender themselves is required to directly notify the immediate community that a sex offender is in the area.  This can take many forms, including electronic, mail, or in-person notification, publication in local newspapers, and community meetings.

 

    • What are the residence distance restrictions?

Are there any restrictions on where a registered sex offender can live?  Some jurisdictions restrict registrants from living within a measured distance of certain places.  This restriction could be for all registrants, or only for higher-level offenders or those under supervision.  Some jurisdictions do not have a state-wide restriction but do allow local jurisdictions to enact their own.

 

    • What are the employment distance restrictions?

Registered sex offenders are usually restricted from certain types of employment, and from working at establishments that specifically cater to minors.  Some jurisdictions go even further and restrict registrants from working within a measured distance of certain places.

 

    • Is an employer’s information included on the public registry?

Returning citizens of every type need to find employment upon reentry, and sex offenders are no exception.  Some jurisdictions include registrants’ employment information on the public registry website.  This could be the employer’s address or in some cases the name of the employer.

 

    • Are online identifiers included on the public registry?

Some jurisdictions require registered sex offenders to report any identifiers they use online, such as email addresses and social media user names.  In some jurisdictions that information is included on the public registry website, separate from the registrant’s profile, in a feature that allows the pubic to search by specific identifiers.

 

    • Is a state-issued ID required to be labeled?

Some jurisdictions require a state-issued ID, such as a driver’s license, to be labeled to identify the holder as a registered sex offender.  This label could be the words “Sex Offender” printed on the ID in a prominent place or a more subtle designation known to law enforcement.

 

    • What is the cost of registration?

Is there a fee to register as a sex offender?  Some jurisdictions pass on some of their administrative costs to the registrants.  This could be a one-time fee paid only upon initial registration, or an ongoing fee paid annually or quarterly.  Some jurisdictions charge a fee every time a registrant updates their information.

 

    • How long can a registrant be in the state for work or education before registration is required?

Does a sex offender have to register if they work or go to school in a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

    • How long can a registrant visit the state before registration is required?

Can a registered sex offender go on vacation?  Does a sex offender have to register if they visit a different state?  It depends on the state, and how long the registrant will be there.  Some jurisdictions require registrants to notify authorities immediately, while others allow limited stays without requiring registration.  Registrants currently under supervision usually need permission from their Parole or Probation Officer before traveling and should always consult their supervising officer.

 

The answers provided are taken directly from the laws found on the state or territory’s legislative website or, where necessary, from the website of the law enforcement agency in charge of the jurisdiction’s registry.  In some cases, we contacted state or territory officials for clarification and have directly quoted those conversations.

Disclaimer

While we stand by our research, it is for informational purposes only.  It should not be considered legal advice and, while we strive to provide accurate and up to date information, it is not guaranteed to be complete or correct.  We provide links to each jurisdiction’s legislative and law enforcement websites and maintain a directory of lawyers who specialize in sex offender registration laws.  For those currently under supervision, consult with your Parole or Probation Officer for guidance.

Adults are required to register for 15 years, 25 years, or lifetime depending on their crime of conviction. If an adult is convicted of a second or subsequent offense that requires registration, the offender must register for life.

            – Summarized by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation

 

The list of offenses and their required duration of registration can be found in K.S.A. 22-4906.

No.

None.

 

K.S.A. 22-4913

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), on and after June 1, 2006, cities and counties shall be prohibited from adopting or enforcing any ordinance, resolution or regulation establishing residential restrictions for offenders as defined by K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto.

None.

No.

 

K.S.A. 22-4909

(c) Notwithstanding subsection (a), information posted on an internet website sponsored or created by a registering law enforcement agency or the Kansas bureau of investigation shall not contain the address of any place where the offender is an employee or any other information about where the offender works. Such internet website shall contain a statement that employment information is publicly available and may be obtained by contacting the appropriate registering law enforcement agency or by signing up for community notification through the official website of the Kansas bureau of investigation.

No.

 

K.S.A. 22-4909

(f) Notwithstanding subsection (a), the following information shall not be disclosed other than to law enforcement agencies:

(5) internet identifiers of the offender.

Yes.

 

K.S.A. 8-1325a.

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1325 and 8-1329, and amendments thereto, an identification card issued to an offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, who is required to register pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall expire on the first birthday of the applicant following the date of original issue. Renewal of any identification card issued under this section shall be made for a term of one year and shall expire in a like manner as the originally issued identification card, unless surrendered earlier.

 

(b) Identification cards issued under this section shall be readily distinguishable indicating that such person is a registered offender.

K.S.A. 22-4905

Any offender required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act shall:

 

(l) remit payment to the sheriff's office in the amount of $20 as part of the reporting process required pursuant to subsection (b) in each county in which the offender resides, maintains employment or is attending school. Registration will be completed regardless of whether or not the offender remits payment. Failure of the offender to remit full payment within 15 days of registration is a violation of the Kansas offender registration act and is subject to prosecution pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4903, and amendments thereto. Notwithstanding other provisions herein, payment of this fee is not required:

(1) When an offender provides updates or changes in information or during an initial registration unless such updates, changes or initial registration is during the month of such offender's birthday and every third, sixth and ninth month occurring before and after the month of the offender's birthday;

(2) when an offender is transient and is required to register every 30 days, or more frequently as ordered by the registering law enforcement agency, except during the month of the offender's birthday and every third, sixth and ninth month occurring before and after the month of the offender's birthday; or

(3) if an offender has, prior to the required reporting and within the last three years, been determined to be indigent by a court of law, and the basis for that finding is recorded by the court;

K.S.A. 22-4905

Any offender required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act shall:

 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, register in person with the registering law enforcement agency within three business days of coming into any county or location of jurisdiction in which the offender resides or intends to reside, maintains employment or intends to maintain employment, or attends school or intends to attend school.

K.S.A. 22-4905

Any offender required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act shall:

 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, register in person with the registering law enforcement agency within three business days of coming into any county or location of jurisdiction in which the offender resides or intends to reside, maintains employment or intends to maintain employment, or attends school or intends to attend school.